Juan Díaz de Solis discovered this place in 1516, and after changing the name some sailor had given to the city, he funded “Cabo de Santa María”.
Two centuries later, it was refunded for good, and these beautiful beaches received the name of “Punta del Este”. On nowadays geography, this place finds itself on the limit of the La Plata River and the Atlantic Ocean.
On the mid eighteen century, the Spanish took the place, and started their Military Basis called “San Fernando”. On the following century, the first populations of sailors and fishers started to appear.
Across the centuries, several things happened, which gave different this land different futures and owners.
We find the exploitation of the Lobos Island in 1820, the Brazilian occupation in 1827, the sellout of the peninsula to English sailors in 1843 while the “Big War” was happening, a change in its name, and many other things.
But when the 20th century was finishing, the peninsula ended up being called as it was at first, the beautiful “Punta del Este”.